How to Prepare for Your Morning Workout

Fashiongum

Who wants to wake up early and go to the gym first thing in the morning? Unless you’re getting paid to do so, it’s pretty much the last thing you want to do. At least for some of us. However, if you’re the ultimate soldier who has at least gotten out of bed for this purpose, then this post is for you. If you haven’t gotten this far, don’t lose hope my friend. My next post will be about the ways in which I motivate my sorry ass out of bed – which you can try too – so subscribe or follow me on social!

Anyway, i’ll stop with the calls to action and get to the point. If it’s during the weekday before school/work or even during the weekend, here’s how you can prepare to bolt for your workout instead of bolting for your bed.

1. Dress to impress

When I say dress to impress, I don’t mean get all dolled up like you’re going to go blazing down the runway. I mean dress like you’re going to be blazing down the sidewalk like you’re running a marathon. Dress like you belong in the gym, but most importantly, wear what makes you feel comfortable. If you’re comfortable, your workout will be all the better.

2. Drink Water

You can do this step before or after step 1. I usually do it after so I have no reason to run back to bed. Drinking water first thing in the morning is a must do. Overnight, your body doesn’t get any water and becomes dehydrated. You need to replenish your body. I like to add slices of strawberries, lime, and a few ice cubes. Other fruit combinations work well as natural detoxers and provide different health benefits.

3. Have an energy drink/bar or coffee.

When I go to the gym, I usually need a little caffeine to give me an extra boost during my work out. I make some coffee, but you can also try energy drinks or pre-workout supplements. I just stick with coffee because it’s cheap and well, because I love coffee.

4. Snack

Some people might say it’s best to workout on an empty stomach and some people say it’s smarter to eat something beforehand to fuel your workout. I have to agree with the latter because I think it is important to be nourished before putting strain on your body. You don’t want your workout to be halted by a lack of energy or by a growling stomach. Especially for a morning workout, you should eat something light half an hour to an hour before your workout. A good protein bar is my go to pre-workout snack and then I like to have a full breakfast after my workout.

5. PINTEREST-Fitness Motivation

If you’re even thinking about going back to bed at any point during this process, please smack yourself in the face – please, not literally – and do a fitness motivation search on Pinterest. If you don’t use Pinterest for anything else, this is what you should use it for (other than baking recipes). If I’m feeling lazy and unmotivated to go to the gym, I open up a little Pinterest fitspiration to get me pumped and in the right mindset to kick some butt – and by that I mean kick my own butt (in a good way) at the gym. If you don’t feel like signing up for Pinterest, there’s still good ol’ Google Images.

6. Talk to friend

Sometimes I just don’t feel like rushing to the gym right away, especially after eating. For me, it helps to talk to or text a friend before going (If you have a friend to do the workout with you, even better!). This helps get my spirits up. Try this but don’t get too carried away and forget you still have to do your workout! 

7. Plug in

Another way to keep from ditching your workout is to get in the zone by plugging into your favorite workout tunes. Having a kickbutt playlist always helps get you motivated. Plus, you can’t go back to sleep while listening to heart pumping music, unless that’s your thing…

8. Get your butt out the door before you can look back

This is probably the best method. Just get up and get yourself out the door. Since you’re already out, you’ll be more inclined to tackle your workout.You can also start adding in a warm up at this point. Once you’re halfway there, there’s no reason to turn back.

9. Get your sexy on

This has been my biggest motivational manthra from the start of my fitness journey. Remember that you are super toats wonderful and  you work out to feel good and be healthy! Plus, you look sexy while working out (aside from the sweat and disheveled hair – no one looks like Beyonce while working out, unless you’re Beyonce) so go get your sexy on.

If you liked these motivational tips and would like to see more of these posts, please leave a comment and don’t forget to check out the Sunnyville Facebook page!

Leave a Reply

